June 18 set for lottery to determine terms of NA members

Kathmandu –  A lottery is to be held on coming June 18 for the determination of tenure of 59 members in the National Assembly (NA), the upper house of bicameral Federal Parliament of Nepal.
With the endorsement of the NA regulations today, the Federal Parliament Secretariat in consultation with political parties has decided to fix the tenure of NA members through a lottery on the date.
As per the constitutional provisions, one third of the NA member shall have two years of term, remaining one third shall have four years and others shall have six years.
The NA has representations of eight members from each province (all seven provinces) and remaining three members are nominated by the President. As per the NA regulations, lottery shall be held differently for open, cluster (women) and province quotas

© Copyright 2015-2019 Upama Sanchar P. LTD. All Right Reserved | Site by: SobizTrend Technology